Department of Church and Authorized Ministry

As outlined in the Oversight of Ministries Authorized by the United Church of Christ, Section 8 of 10*, of the United Church of Christ Manual on the Ministry, the Department for Church and Authorized Ministry (DCAM) is responsible for administering ecclesiastical standing within the Association; carrying out oversight and disciplinary functions; clergy leadership development and continuing education; nurturing the relationship between clergy and congregations; and nurturing the relationship of clergy and congregations with the United Church of Christ.

The Department of Church and Authorized Ministry (DCAM) members are nominated and elected from the 38 congregations of the Central South East Ohio Association (CSEOA) at each annual meeting of the Association.

The elected members will serve three years so that approximately one-third of the Department is elected annually. DCAM members may be elected for a second term.
DCAM membership is as follows:

  • Nine elected members.
  • Ministers and laypersons.
  • One member appointed by the Christian Church in Ohio (Disciples of Christ).
  • Co-opt members for one year terms (ex-officio)
  • CSEOA Association Ministers (ex-officio).

DCAM has oversight of the following four proceedings:

  • Periodic Support
  • Situational Support Consultation
  • Information Review
  • Fitness review

In cooperation with the Department of Preparation for Authorized Ministry (DPAM), the Department of Church and Authorized Ministry (DCAM) will connect with the Church and Ministry groups of the Ohio Conference and the United Church of Christ.

*Manual on Ministry

Members of the Department for Church and Authorized Ministry

Class of 2023
Ms. Janet Marbly, Advent, Columbus
Rev. Terry Williams, Orchard Hill, Chillicothe

Class of 2024
Mrs. Missy Clum, Trinity, Thornville
Rev. Jackie Nehls, Dublin Community

Rev. Gunnar Cerda, St. John’s, Newark

Disciples of Christ Representative Rev. Dr. Judy Alston

Department of Church and Preparation for Authorized Ministry

Do you sense God’s call to authorized ministry?  DPAM is composed of 12 clergy and lay members elected by the CSEOA to engage persons in a process of discernment listening and preparing for God’s call to authorized ministry.  The UCC recognizes 3 forms of authorized ministry:  Ordained, Commissioned, and Licensed.   Each Member in Discernment (MID) comes recommended by their congregation.  The In Discernment Manual, rev 7, Oct 2013 (here or see resources) describes the MID process which is a minimum of two years.

As of January 12, 2017 there are 20 Members in Discernment from  11 congregations:  Columbus: Advent UCC,  First Congregational, First Community, Move, North Congregational UCC, St Johns;  Belpre, Radnor Congregational, Westerville Community UCC, and Zion Delaware.

 Marks of Faithful and Effective Authorized Ministries 

In-Discernment Manual

Members of the Department of Preparation for Authorized Ministry:

Class of 2023
Mr. Mike Newcomb, Zion, Delaware
Rev. Susan Langner, Westerville Community Westerville

Rev. Bill Nirote, Fist Congregational, Columbus

Class of 2024
Rev. James Semmelroth Darnell, David’s, Canal Winchester

Ms. Amy LaDu, Dublin Community, Dublin

Rev. Keith McDevitt, Grace, Lancaster

Class of 2023
Rev. Joanna Samuelson, Trinity, Baltimore

Class of 2024
Rev. Marla Flewellen, St. Paul, Columbus

%d bloggers like this: